<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tulip</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Pepper, is browning a bad thing? From the way you say it, it sounds like shortening ready to clog your arteries.. </div></div>she talking about the braising process not the browning in the bottle
I find that "browning/braising" sears in the natural juices of the meat
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: diabolical_Tanya</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tulip</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Pepper, is browning a bad thing? From the way you say it, it sounds like shortening ready to clog your arteries.. </div></div>she talking about the braising process not the browning in the bottle
I find that "browning/braising" sears in the natural juices of the meat
but mi sure the other way works as well </div></div>
in addition..i have cooked it down without browning an it cum out to pyaka pyaka to me
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tulip</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Oh ok. Thanks for clearing that up for me Tanya.
I am still excited about trying this new method Sunday. These are going to be good. </div></div>you using the pressure cooker?
mi did buy one whole heap a oxtail from the halal butcher up di road round xmas time an ti ting did rancid yu si
Yup, I am going to use the pressure cooker. I'm going to try to combine all the advice. My only concern right now is not overcooking them. I want the meat on the bone.
Well, that was my only concern until underscore came in here with this pyaka sticky business.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Peasie</div><div class="ubbcode-body">If you plan to have a cholesterol test in, oh let's just say, about six months, do not eat oxtail before! </div></div>
at the cholesterol comments. It feels like it has been about 6 months since I last had some. Sometimes you gotta do what you gotta do. Hook or crook, I'm eating some oxtails Sunday lol.
den after oxtail nuh diff from any other meats when it comes to cholesterol??
anyway Tulip, like pepper say, if u a use the browning sauce, u can skip the browning/braising part....
just drop de whole season up oxtails in a big pot, pressure cooker is good, but dont pressure it....let dat simmer for about 1/2hr before u add the water, then add enough water to cover the oxtails, cook on med fire......keep adding water to always have the oxtails covered, add a little ketchup, a little pickapepper sauce, if u never used any jerk sauce, if u use jerk sauce, then you should skip the pickapepper sauce.....when almost done cook...bout 20mins left before u turn off eh stove, add in your cooked/canned lima beans, carrots, spinners, sometimes I dont add any of these, but more time, i do like the lima beans added....u can also use the uncooked lima beans, but u must add them the same time when u dropped the oxtails in the pot (they cook about the same time as the oxtails).....Enjoy
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.